Mount Edgecombe see off Cotswold Downs in tight premier league final

Mount Edgecombe CC, premier league champions for 2017. They are (from left) Luke Mayo, Reece van Straaten, Graeme Inggs, David Brown (captain), Siyanda Mwandla, Dale Burraston, Steve Cullen and Greg McKay.

MOUNT Edgecombe Country Club have reclaimed the KwaZulu-Natal Premier League title.

They did so by beating Cotswold Downs 8-4 in the final played at Bluff National Park last Sunday.

The scoreline doesn’t really indicate how close the match was, with the usual ebbs and flows that happen in matchplay golf not always evident on the scoresheet.

In the foursomes, Graeme Inggs and Reece van Straaten (who’ve lost less games than the All Blacks in recent times) went down 3/2 to Brad Trevethan and Dean Le Vieux.

Luke Mayo and Steve Cullen evened things up with a 1-up win over Dennis Mack and Grant Olivier.

The pendulum swung back to Cotswold when Lyall McNeill and Byron Coetzee beat David Brown and Dale Burraston 2/1.

But it levelled off again when Siyanda Mwandla and Greg McKay beat Brendan Adlam and Paul Blackman 3/2.

It was set up perfectly for the singles, where Mount Edgecombe showed their class.

Trevethan struck first for Cotswold, defeating Cullen 1-up. Inngs hit back by beating Le Vieux 5/4.

Mwandla, playing number one, scored next, with a 7/6 win against Coetzee.

YOU MAY ALSO BE INTERESTED IN: Siyanda Mwandla breaks through for maiden win

He and Inggs could then follow their mates around, giving them some much needed support.

Brown then pushed Mount Edgecombe into the lead with a 2/1 win over Mack.

Burraston and Van Straaten held their collective nerve to win 1-up against their respective opponents Olivier and McNeill.

That was the match for Mount Edgecombe, with McKay seeing off Adlam 1-up.

Blackman scored a consolation victory over Mayo, 2/1, but by then it was too late.

“It was a solid all round team effort from the first game to the last. We all had our ups and downs but the guys all stepped up to the plate when needed. I must also thank all the guys for their commitment to make each game despite the busy schedules. We look forward to welcoming Derek Scullard back to our team and defending the title next year,” said captain David Brown.

Kloof Country Club whitewashed a depleted Southern KwaZulu-Natal team 12-0 in the relegation playoff.

In the A division, Amanzimtoti squeaked past Midlands to regain their spot in the top flight, winning the final 6,5-5,5.

In the B division final, Royal Durban beat Kloof 8-4 to gain promotion to the A division.

Mount Edgecombe ‘A’ beat Umhlali ‘A’ in a playoff to avoid relegation in this division.


Like our Facebook page, follow us on Twitter and Instagram

For news straight to your phone, add us on BBM 58F3D7A7 or WhatsApp 082 421 6033

South Coast Herald

Latest News


Recommended Story x
Royal blushes narrowly avoided for visiting Premier League golf team