From the bowling greens

Ferro van Greunen of Southbroom BC wins the KBA men's singles champs for the first time.


STEVE and Jenny Rennie won the GP Security mixed pairs last Friday, from Rod and Mary Phelps.

Second session went to Hazel Delaney and Ally Weir, and the 50/50 board to Mary Phelps.

Next sponsored competition is the 19th Hole mixed trips on Wednesday (19th).


THURSDAY’S tabs winners of the Spur vouchers were Franci Philpott, Deon van Schalkwyk, Callum Dinning and Alex Forrest.


Halfway Toyota men’s 2-4-2 last Friday was won by Oscar Pienaar and Roy Baker. Runners-up were Brian Douthwaite and Bill Eccles.

Session prize went to Dave Hume and John Keppler. Theuns Zietsman won the 50/50.

Quiz night is next Wednesday (19th). at 6.30pm. Social bowls is played every Sunday morning, from 9am.

Mugg & Bean women’s 2-bowls trips is on Friday, July 21, in the morning. Duty: office – Gerry Davey; tea – Franci Philpott and Yvonne James.


THE Tiago’s open flame drawn trips played last Friday were won by Arthur Seager, Hana Svoboda and Lorraine van Heerden.

Second were Roger Burwood, Cheryl Knight and Glenda Verster. Session prize was awarded to Fay Patterson, Bill Enkerwitz and Estelle Quinn.

Hibberdene Pharmacy mixed trips this Friday (14th).


THE Hair Shoppe women’s fours were won by Marianne van Buuren, Leoni Booth, Mary Warner, and Francien van der Merwe.

Runners-up were Yvonne van Mentz, Barbara Gradwell, Gae Gravell and Chrissie Chancellor. Elfriede Goosen won the 50/50 draw.

Engel & Volkers men’s fours will be played on July 21st.


HIGH Rock mixed pairs winners were Anthony Card and Denise de Witt, from Tommy and Louise Dry.

Session to Arthur Ronaldson and Leone Bloem, board to Helen Cock. Tabs in every: Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday at 1.30 for 2pm.


IT was a wonderful day for the Nomads at Munster BC last Sunday. First prize went to Hazel Delaney, Sergio Ruperto and Helen Cock.

YOU MIGHT ALSO BE INTERESTED INFrom the bowling greens

Second were John Sutton, Cas Benade, and Phill Longden, followed by Kobus Faber, Sharon Scheinberg and Dan Delaney.


THANKS to those who made the visiting KBA men’s open singles bowlers feel more than welcome last Saturday.

Competitors complimented the club on the eats and well prepared green.

Winners of the Tiago’s open trips were Jokkie van Buuren, Francien van der Merwe and Ken Simm.

Runners-up were Dave Banks, Leoni Booth and Maureen van der Poel. Session prize was won by Dice Graaf, Gino Alilovic and Myra Doubell.


ROY Anderson, Howard Frizelle and Mark Smith won the KBA men’s trips title.

Winners of the South Coast Herald fours were Eddie Fann, John Nadauld, Rastus Reen and Elena Frizelle.

Runners-up were Brian and Jenny Rawlins, Irena Eigenmann and Caroline Harris.


NOT content with having won the KBA men’s novice singles in April this year, Ferro van Greunen won the KBA men’s singles championship with a convincing win over Eddie Fann of Port Shepstone (21-13) in the final held at Margate BC on Monday this week.

Well done to Norma Louw, Anjie Gold, Chrissie Chancellor and Dina van der Walt on winning the Mariner’s open fours.

Runners-up were John Sutton, Betty Bolton, Ally Mitchell and Keith Roach.

Sessions to Steve Rennie, John Keppler, Aubrey Hood and Jenny Rennie as well as Malcolm Milne, Bev Clements, Sean Larkins and Brent Addison. 50/50 to Ivan Hosken.

Next up, soup & s0herry after tabs this Friday (14th). Tiago’s men’s trips next Tuesday (18th).


JANE Massam is the 2017 KBA women’s seniors singles champion.

Also, congratulations to the triumvirate of Mark Bischoff, John Hové and Nellis Hattingh who were runners-up in the KBA men’s trips.

Remember the AGM this Saturday (15th) after tabs in and bring a plate of eats.

An early night will be essential for the vital cricket match against Tweni this Sunday (16th).


CONGRATULATIONS to Claude Ching on winning the KBA senior men’s singles and to Sharolyn Dacey and Steve O’Moore on coming third respectively, in the KBA open women’s and men’s singles.

Winners of the Captain’s Anchor mixed fours were Hew Hodgson, Renzo van Niekerk, Daphne Hounsell and Caroline Harris.

YOU MIGHT ALSO BE INTERESTED INFrom the bowling greens

In second place were Tickey Nel, Margaret Brooks, Bill Brooks and Kevin Mullen. Session prize went to Dave Price, Tony Johnson, Woody Woods and Trudy Rush.

Braai after bowls this Sunday (16th). Fruit and Veg sponsored 2-4-2 next Tuesday (18th).


VELL Mannion won the club’s singles title from Maddi Linton. In the men’s section, Tony Aveyard beat Derick Celliers.

South Coast Herald men’s pairs winners were Dennis Graham and Mike Findlay, from Werner Mody and Alan Wallace. Session to Peet van Rooyen and Steve O’Moore.

Schooners mixed trips was won by Arthur Gomez, Tammy Gibbons and Daphne Hounsell. Runners-up were Tony Johnson, Astrid Jackson and Trevor Main.

Session to Tony Aveyard, Kathy Simpson and George Pick.

Tweni-Southport cricket game this Sunday (16th) at 10am, followed by a bring and braai. Wimpy mixed fours next Wednesday (19th).


WINNERS of the Hibiscus Retirement Villages men’s trips were Ron Canning, Reg Sanders and Rennie Geyer followed by Dereck Schorn, Mike Ryan and Keith Roach.

Sessions went to Barry Christie, Norman Isherwood and Dave Dawson and to Alan Tyers, Bill Parfitt and Manny Piquito. Dave Garland won the 50/50.

Hyundai drawn mixed trips this Saturday (15th), from 1.15pm. Next competition is Martin Electronics men’s 2-4-2 on Thursday (20th).


Like our Facebook page, follow us on Twitter and Instagram

For news straight to your phone, add us on BBM 58F3D7A7 or WhatsApp 082 421 6033

South Coast Herald

Latest News


Recommended Story x
Could you beat a bass master?