Two new councillors sworn in at Ugu District Municipality

Councillor Lindokuhle Mzimela was sworn in by Ugu legal services manager, Malanie Olivier.

PROCEEDINGS got under way at Ugu District Municipality council, as new ANC councillors were sworn in at a council meeting held at Ray Nkonyeni Municipality council chambers.

Councillors Lindokuhle Mzimela and Abednigo Ngubo were sworn in as new members of the Ugu council.

YOU MIGHT ALSO BE INTERESTED INWATCH as new Ugu mayor Mondli Chiliza is sworn in

They are replacing Cllr Sithembiso Cele, who resigned from the Ugu council earlier this year, as well as the vacant seat that followed Cllr Tolomane Mnyayiza’s death.

Currently, Ugu District Municipality has no deputy mayor, after Mondli Chiliza, who was deputy mayor at the time of Cllr Mnyayiza’s death, became mayor.

Councillor Abednigo Ngubo was sworn in as a new Ugu councillor last Thursday.

Names of four candidates from council, selected by the ANC regional executive committee, were put before the provincial executive committee for consideration. The names included executive council members, Cllr Ian Mavundla, Cllr Sphumlile Mthiyane, Cllr Nomfundo Zwane and Cllr Musa Manyoni.

Insiders claim Cllr Ian Mavundla tops the list and stands the best chance of being the deputy mayor.

ANC spokesman, Mdumiseni Ntuli, said the Provincial Working Committee was currently dealing with the issue and the matter should have been finalised on Monday this week. However, he was out of the country and couldn’t confirm whose candidacy had triumphed at the meeting.


Like our Facebook page, follow us on Twitter and Instagram

For news straight to your phone, add us on BBM 58F3D7A7 or WhatsApp 082 421 6033

Zimasa Mgwili

Latest News


Recommended Story x
Councils table budgets